Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

I Love You Always Forever
Donna Lewis


Don't Ya
Brett Eldredge

Sylacauga City School Foundation Presents Grants and Joseph B. Morton Excellence in Education Awards


SYLACAUGA, Ala. – To culminate the 2018-2019 school year Sylacauga City Schools Foundation awarded 28 grants to 55 classroom teachers totaling $30,930 in order to supplement the classroom.

This is the mission and goal of the Foundation; and all efforts, events, fundraisers, and Chair solicitations work toward this goal. The Foundation invests contributions wisely and awards the grants from interest earned each year.  All teachers are given the opportunity to submit grant applications every February. This year’s grants will affect 7,278 cumulative students in the school system. Since 1988 when the Foundation was founded, there have been a total of 1,146 grants funded, totaling over $1,200,000, and affecting more than 355,600 students. Classroom teachers have limited finances to implement innovative, creative, impactful learning; and the Foundation continues to work diligently to provide extra and necessary funds. Steve Sprayberry, charter member of the Foundation, remarked, “This year was another great example of how the Foundation and our local school system work directly to support our classroom teachers and all their students. Without the help of the Foundation, our school system would not have been able to do all it has for our teachers and students over the last 30 years.”

Support Personnel of the Year, Lisa Garrett, with her family.
Jane Vaughn is pictured with Tim Allen, Volunteer of the Year, and his family members.

Since 1996 the Foundation has presented the Joseph B. Morton Excellence in Education awards to an Educator of the Year, Support Personnel of the Year, and Volunteer of the Year for being excellent in their roles within the school system. The honorees this year are Cindy Cleveland (Educator), Lisa Garrett (Support Personnel), and Tim Allen (Volunteer). All three are most deserving for the outstanding way they make a difference in the lives of our students. Jane Vaughn, President of the Foundation, shared, “The Foundation is so appreciative to all teachers, staff, and volunteers for what they exhibit daily in our schools. It is such a privilege to honor these individuals who have given so selflessly of their time, devotion, commitment, and passion to the students in our system. These awards are a small token of our appreciation for what they have done this school year.”

Indian Valley Grant Winners
Nichols-Lawson Grant Winners
Pinecrest Grant Winners
SHS Grant Winners

Our Foundation is celebrating 30 years of serving the students and teachers of Sylacauga City Schools. Join in this monumental time by participating in our “30 for 30 Campaign” whereby you pledge to donate $30 for 30 months. There are several other ways for the community of Sylacauga to make contributions—memorials and honorariums, purchasing a paver/marble through the Aggie Walk Brick Campaign, and supporting a pending or new Chair. If you are interested in making a difference in the success of the students of Sylacauga City Schools, mail contributions to the attention of Mrs. Carol Sprayberry, Executive Director, 43 North Broadway, Sylacauga, AL 35150. Check out our website: or visit us on Facebook: Sylacauga City Schools Foundation.



Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @