Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

Don't Speak
No Doubt


You're Still The One
Shania Twain

Sylacauga City Council decided; District 3 runoff set for Oct. 6


SYLACAUGA, Ala. – In Sylacauga’s municipal election on Tuesday, three incumbent council members were awarded a second term.

Two councilmen lost their seats, and the District 3 winner will be determined by a runoff.

In District 1, Councilman Ashton Fowler will serve a second term as voters cast 516 votes for him. Fowler defeated opponents, Mike Landers and Albert L. Patton. Landers received 93 votes, while Patton had 61.

District 2 Councilwoman Tiffany Nix secured her seat for a second term by defeating Andrew Morgan and Laffarin “Deon” Smith. Nix had 203 votes, while Morgan had 82 and Smith 13.

District 3 Councilman Donnie Blackmon lost his seat. DeCorey Hale and Nate Brewer will face each other in a runoff on Oct. 6.

Each candidate put in many hours of hard work campaigning and hope people in District 3 consider them on Oct. 6.

“I’m excited about the runoff. My team and I have worked hard to get to this point, and we see a clear future ahead,” said Hale. “I love Sylacauga and its citizens. And as proven time and time again, I will do the very best I can to help uplift the city of Sylacauga. Moving forward, it’s going to be busy. In addition to campaigning door to door again and speaking with people, I have a few independent projects I’m working on that will benefit the city as well. So it’s a great time.”

Brewer wants to thank those who came out and voted for him on Tuesday and encourages them to come back to the polls on Oct. 6 and vote for him.

District 4 Councilman and current council President Frank “Lee” Perryman defeated Jonathan “Jon” Hall and Jada Thomas-Combs for the District 4 seat. Perryman received 283 votes to Hall’s 103 and Thomas-Combs with 98.

District 5 Councilman Dallas Davenport lost his seat to Laura Barlow Heath. Heath received 124 votes to Davenport’s 65 and candidate John Wesson’s 57.

Voters also elected James “Jim” Heigl to a second term as mayor of the Marble City.


Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @