Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

I Want It That Way
Backstreet Boys


Halfway to Hell
Jelly Roll

SHS National Honor Society inducts 55 new members


SYLACAUGA, AL – The Sylacauga High School chapter of the National Honor Society has tapped 55 new students for membership. Additionally, 33 tenth grade students have been tapped for the Junior Scholastic Society.

The attributes for membership include outstanding scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

New inductees into NHS are Jalen Armour, Jasmine Burns, Sophia Cannestra, Lily Higginbotham, Taylor Klinger, Crews Proctor, Nadya Troester, Ashlyn Wykoff, Asiah Adair, Taylor Allen, Karsten Aman, Hayden Basinger, Riley Basinger, Mackenzie Bowen, September Bowen, Brantlee Brasher, Kinsley Cotney, Sejada Davis, T.J. Deale, Olivia Dean, Savannah Deason, Makalei Dew, Justin Douglas, Camden Faircloth, Morgan Flora, Alex Franks, John Wesley Garris, Brielle Hay, Hudson Hodges, Hayden Hope, Livvie House, Maria Hughes, Robert Hughes, Za’Kandria Jordan, Emma Kirkpatrick, Deanna Lacey, Savannah McCartney, Myricale McMillian, Alyssa Miller, Amori Moon, Chloe Morgan, Ta’shauria Morris, Taylor Murphy, Kendra Myles, Laila Nix, Elise Owens, Noah Seaborn, Marilee Taylor, Kodie Thomas, Ansley Walker, Bevin Walker, Marlee Watkins, Reagan Wills, Lacey Wood, James Wright.

New members of the Junior Scholastic Society are Angel Adams, Logan Basinger, Anna Grace Bearden, Madison Beasley, Audrey Bell, Lee Bland, Gracyn Brooks, Lindsey Burton, Brighton Clary, Addison Collins, Jennifer Curtis, Ava Deloach, Brennon Faircloth, Alivia French, Lauren French, Peyton Fricks, Mallory Grier, Sydney Harris, Amari Headen, Audrey Henson, Emma Jacobs, Maggie Mizelle, Estela Padgett, Jacie Pilkington, Zoe Pitts, Mason Porch, Alana Price, Lily Price, Olivia Reams, Jonas Scofield, Emma Steers, Rebekah Theilacker, and Ella Waller.

Officers of NHS are GG Hackett, President; Ashley Duncan, Vice President; Emily Porch, Secretary; Brooke Gordon, Treasurer; and Alli Gill, Reporter. Current senior members are Ryan Aderholt, Mattie Blankenship, Peyton Bowen, Ella Kate Brooks, Adalyn Conn, Mitchell Culver, Donovan Embry, Macy Fells, Dax Flora, DJ Franklin, Madelyn Friday, Alana Hickman, Chloe Holmes, Kaylei Horn, Lily Hughey, Morgan Johnson, Christina Keith, Ethan Knox, Benji Merkel, McKenzie Merkel, Madelyn Milo, Jasmine Morris, Madison Myrick, Victoria Parrish, Nathan Perry, Janie Poe, JC Reams, Gabe Stadler, Cole Tankersley, Amelia Troester, Jeremiah Varner, Autumn Waites, Gracie Welch, Alyse Williams, Colby Williams, and Maya Wilson.

Congratulations to these students who have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, service, character, and leadership at Sylacauga High.

Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @