HOOVER, Ala. – Each year at SEC Football Media Days, the media is issued an electronic ballot and makes its prediction on many preseason categories including who will win the conference.

The votes have been tallied, and the media has chosen Alabama to win the league for the second straight year and for the fourth time in the last five seasons.

Georgia was selected to win the SEC Eastern Division with 1,572 points, including 138 first-place votes, narrowly edging two-time defending division champion Florida who was second with 1,526 points and 96 votes to win the division. Tennessee was third with 998 total points. Points were awarded on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale.

Alabama was picked to win the SEC Western Division with 1,683 total points, while Auburn was second with 1,329. Alabama received 225 first-place votes in the West. LSU was third with 1,262 points.

Six times since 1992 – four times in the last 20 –  the predicted champion at SEC Media Days has proceeded to win the SEC Championship. Media in attendance have correctly predicted the eventual champion two of the last three seasons.

Alabama had the most first-team All-SEC selections this season with 10, which is a new record for the SEC Media Days All-SEC Team.

EASTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

School Points
Georgia (138) 1572
Florida (96) 1526
Tennessee (3) 998
South Carolina (5) 897
Kentucky 869
Vanderbilt 554
Missouri 388

WESTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

School Points
Alabama (225) 1683
Auburn (13) 1329
LSU (4) 1262
Arkansas (1) 796
Texas A&M 722
Mississippi State 633
Ole Miss 379


School Points
Alabama 217
Auburn 11
Georgia 6
Florida 3
South Carolina 1
Vanderbilt 1
Arkansas 1


(Total points earned in parenthesis)



QB        Jalen Hurts, Alabama (196)

RB        Derrius Guice, LSU (223)

RB        Nick Chubb, Georgia (211)

WR       Calvin Ridley, Alabama (232)

WR       Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (197)

TE         Isaac Nauta, Georgia (134)

OL        Braden Smith, Auburn (201)

OL        Martez Ivey, Florida (198)

OL        Jonah Williams, Alabama (187)

OL        Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama (174)

C          Frank Ragnow, Arkansas (174)


QB       Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State (121)

RB        Bo Scarbrough, Alabama (151)

RB        Kamryn Pettway, Auburn (141)

WR       Antonio Callaway, Florida (152)

WR       J’Mon Moore, Missouri (91)

TE         Hayden Hurst, South Carolina (115)

OL        Isaiah Wynn, Georgia (116)

OL        Jashon Robertson, Tennessee (108)

OL        K.J. Malone, LSU (101)

OL        Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State (101)

C          Bradley Bozeman, Alabama (155)


QB        Austin Allen, Arkansas (102)

RB        Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt (105)

RB        Sony Michel, Georgia (30)

WR       Deebo Samuel, South Carolina (64)

WR       Jauan Jennings, Tennessee (42)

TE         DeAndre Goolsby, Florida (76)

OL        Lester Cotton, Alabama (96)

OL        Greg Little, Ole Miss (94)

OL        Javon Patterson, Ole Miss (87)

OL        Koda Martin, Texas A&M (69)

C           Will Clapp, LSU (66)



DL        Da’Ron Payne, Alabama (196)

DL        Da’Shawn Hand, Alabama (180)

DL         Trenton Thompson, Georgia (172)

DL        Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss (159)

LB         Arden Key, LSU (191)

LB         Rashaan Evans, Alabama (180)

LB         Roquan Smith, Georgia (157)

DB        Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama (232)

DB        Ronnie Harrison, Alabama (156)

DB        Armani Watts, Texas A&M (137)

DB        Duke Dawson, Florida (137)


DL        Cece Jefferson, Florida (151)

DL         Marlon Davidson, Auburn (120)

DL         Christian LaCouture, LSU (107)

DL         Denzil Ware, Kentucky (78)

LB         Shaun Dion Hamilton, Alabama (156)

LB        Skai Moore, South Carolina (128)

LB         Tre’ Williams, Auburn (103)

DB        Tray Matthews, Auburn (126)

DB        Donte Jackson, LSU (123)

DB        Carlton Davis, Auburn (109)

DB       Dominick Sanders, Georgia (109)


DL        Marcell Frazier, Missouri (77)

DL         Jabari Zuniga, Florida (76)

DL        Dontavius Russell, Auburn (70)

DL         Rashard Lawrence, LSU (54)

LB         Jordan Jones, Kentucky (91)

LB         Lorenzo Carter, Georgia (82)

LB         Oren Burks, Vanderbilt (58)

DB        Anthony Averett, Alabama (104)

DB        Marcell Harris, Florida (83)

DB        Mike Edwards, Kentucky (71)

DB        Tony Brown, Alabama (62)



P           JK Scott, Alabama (222)

PK        Daniel Carlson, Auburn (218)

RS        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (176)

AP        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (161)


P           Johnny Townsend, Florida (99)

PK        Eddy Piniero, Florida (106)

RS        Evan Berry, Tennssee (117)

AP        Derrius Guice, LSU (133)


P           Trevor Daniel, Tennessee (58)

PK        Gary Wunderlich, Ole Miss (94)

RS         Antonio Callaway, Florida (84)

AP        Kerryon Johnson, Auburn (66)

The top vote-getters in 2017 were Minkah Fitzpatrick (Alabama), Calvin Ridley (Alabama) and Derrius Guice (LSU).

Since 2000, Arkansas’ Darren McFadden (Arkansas) is the only unanimous selection to the SEC Media Days First Team at his position, collecting all possible votes that year.

Since 1992, the most players on a first-team prior to this year’s vote was nine by Alabama in 2011 and eight by Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009).

Jeremy Law for SylacaugaNews.com | © 2017, SylacaugaNews.com/Marble City Media LLC. All Rights Reserved.


© 2019, SylacaugaNews.com/Marble City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- Yea!106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), 98.3 Fox FM, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), and AU100 -- along with SylacaugaNews.com reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from SylacaugaNews.com, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. Click here to e-mail the reporter.