Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

(Everything I Do) I Do It For You
Bryan Adams


Save Me the Trouble
Dan Shay

Qualifying candidates for the Sylacauga municipal election as of July 20


SYLACAUGA, Ala. – The next municipal election for the city of Sylacauga is set for Tuesday, Aug. 25.

Here are the qualified candidates for Sylacauga as of Monday, July 20 (incumbents marked with an “i”).


  • James “Jim” Heigl (i)
  • Michael James
  • Joseph Hamilton
  • Baxter Bozeman
  • Jamie Lee Powell
  • Richard “Rick” A. Morris

City Council, District 1

  • Ashton Fowler (i)
  • Albert L. Patton

City Council, District 2

  • Tiffany Nix (i)
  • Andrew Morgan

City Council, District 3

  • Timothy “Nate” Brewer
  • Donnie W. Blackmon (i)
  • DeCorey Hale

City Council, District 4

  • Jada R. Thomas-Combs
  • Frank “Lee” Perryman (i)
  • Jonathan “Jon” Hall

City Council, District 5

  • Dallas Davenport (i)
  • Laura Barlow Heath
  • John Wesson

Candidates have until 5 p.m. on July 21 to qualify.

Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @