Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

Careless Whisper


The Painter
Cody Johnson

National Honor Society inducts 56 new members


SYLACAUGA, Ala. – In a formal ceremony held at the Sylacauga High School auditorium, 56 new members were inducted into the National Honor Society, and 37 new members were inducted into the Junior Scholastic Society.

Candles were lit by NHS officers Zachary Miller, Brylane Hay, Erica Laughridge, Kaleigh Smith, and Ariana Prichard signifying the four attributes of membership: scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

New inductees into NHS are Austin Allen, David Carpenter, Anna Deerman, Zack Dew, Carson Dickerson, Zack Elliff, Danielle Hanrahan, Emeriah Harrison, Madalyn Ingram, Joseph Knight, Madison Meador, Emily Morgan, Hayden Owings, Stefanie Perry, Kailey Sailer, Elizabeth Whetstone, Alexandra White, Caitlyn Wykoff, Jack’Quoia Baulding, Peyton Bearden, Aaliyah Carter, Noah Collier, Maxwell Collins, Gabriel Cox, Jillian Curtis, JD DeLoach, Megan Gordon, Abby Harris, Hannah Harris, Keri Hayes, Rachel Livingston, Emilee Martin, Madison Martin, Alise McGrady, Reed McCartney, Timothy McGrady, Lacey McIntosh, Jake Ogle, Yash Patel, Cole Porch, Morgan Reeves, Kali Rhodes, Faith Richardson, Alexis Sandoval, Andrew Schmidt, Taylor Strickland, Megan Tankersley, Ivana Taylor, Taliyah Taylor, Ashlyn Tyler, Katelyn Vazquez, Shaun Wadhwa, Bentley Walker, Ivey Waller, Lauryn Wood, and Kaylyn Wright.

The new inductees join current NHS members Grace Abernathy, Maudie Arnold, Jordyn Basinger, Olivia Bolton, Madison Clark, Max Cleveland, Brady Davis, Madison Estelle, Jillian Foster, Emily Gallups, Kristen Gamel, Maggie Green, Ally Harmon, Leslie Hemby, Ruby Huerta Cruz, Sophie Hutchinson, Max Jackson, AshLeigh Johnson, Rachel Kidd, Gabrielle Knox, Caden Lunsford, Grier Marlowe, Emma McGrady, Mason McKinney, Morgan McKinney, Nichole McNeill, Landon Owen, Anna Reeves, Keziah Sanders, Cassidy Terrill, Savanna Welborn, and Sierra Welch

New members of the Junior Scholastic Society are Ryan Aderholt, Mattie Blankenship, Peyton Bowen, Tanner Bowen, Ella Kate Brooks, Sophia Cannestra, Jeremiah Chalkley, Adalyn Conn, Macy Fells, Dax Flora, DJ Franklin, Madelyn Friday, Brooke Gordon, G.G. Hackett, Jacob Haynes, Crystal Huerta, Lily Hughey, Madison Hurst, Morgan Johnson, Christina Keith, Ethan Knox, Madelyn Milo, Madison Myrick, Victoria Parrish, Nathan Perry, Janie Poe, Emily Porch, Crews Proctor, J.C. Reams, Gabe Stadler, Cole Tankersley, Jeremiah Varner, Autumn Waites, Gracie Welch, Alyse Williams, Maya Wilson, and Ashlyn Wykoff.

Congratulations to these students who have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, service, character, and leadership at Sylacauga High School.

Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @