Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

Open Your Heart


What Ifs
Kane Brown feat. Lauren Alaina

National Honor Society induction held for SHS students


SYLACAUGA, Ala. – In a formal ceremony held at the Sylacauga High School auditorium, new members were inducted into the National Honor Society and Junior Scholastic Society.

Candles were lit by NHS officers signifying the attributes of membership: scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Because no formal ceremony was held last year due to social distancing restrictions, the following inductees from 2020-2021 were recognized: Asiah Adair, Taylor Allen, Karsten Aman, Hayden Basinger, Riley Basinger, Mackenzie Bowen, September Bowen, Brantlee Brasher, Kinsley Cotney, Sejada Davis, T.J. Deale, Olivia Ann Dean, Savannah Deason, Makalei Dew, Justin Douglas, Camden Faircloth, Morgan Flora, Alex Franks, John Wesley Garris, Brielle Hay, Hudson Hodges, Hayden Hope, Livvie House, Maria Hughes, Robert Hughes, Za’Kandria Jordan, Emma Kirkpatrick, Deanna Lacey, Savannah McCartney, Alyssa Miller, Amori Moon, Chloe Morgan, Ta’shauria Morris, Taylor Murphy, Kendra Myles, Laila Nix, Elise Owens, Noah Seaborn, Marilee Taylor, Kodie Thomas, Ansley Walker, Bevin Walker, Marlee Watkins, Reagan Wills, Lacey Wood, and James Tankersley Wright.

Fifty-three new members were induced into this prestigious fellowship this year: Will Austin, Katlyn Boozer, Preston Bowen, Jake Hammonds, Emma Hopkins, Kiyla McNealey, Kaylee Alise Patterson, Skyler Player, Daysia Robertson, Samoria Russell, Austyn Vincent, Jackson Armstrong, Baker, Logan Basinger, Anna Bearden, Madison Beasley, Audrey Bell, Lee Allen Bland, Gracyn Brooks, Lindsey Burton, Brighton Clary, Aiden Cochran, Marissa Addison Collins, Jennifer Curtis, Ava Grace Deloach, Victoria Elliott, Kaitlyn Estelle, Brennon Faircloth, Jack Fornwalt, Alivia French, Lauren Elizabeth French, Peyton Fricks, Sydney Harris, Amari Headen, Audrey Henson, Emma Kay Jacobs, Tae Jones, Kylan King, Brooklyn Leonard, Maggie Mizelle, Hadyn Rae Owens, Estela Claire Padgett, Jacie Pilkington, Zoe Pitts, Mason Porch, Alana Price, Lily Frances Price, Olivia Reams, Jonas Scofield, Emma Grace Steers, Rebekah Theilacker, Ella Claire Waller, and Samuel Wu.

The Junior Scholastic Society welcomed 39 inductees into their organization: Catherine Abernathy, Jenny Velazquez Aguas, Elizabeth Atkinson, Finn Atkinson, Leilany Banuelos. Tucker Beane, Colin Bowen, Sydney Chapman, Molly Childress, Keaton Childs, Makenzi Cleveland, William Combs II, Jakarryian Cottingham, Makasia Crawford, Tanaiya Crayton, Lindsey Duncan, Madison Estelle, Camilla Friday, Charleigh Grice, Hunter Harris, Baylee Grace Harwell, Dalton Hay, Bradlie Hibbs, Thomas Kayne Hodnett, Brady Hubbard, Jahzara Jones, Carlee Liner, Lilly Kate Lucas, Sarah Beth McCaleb, Lexus McCoy, Jase Alexander Mitchell, Haven Owen, Iman Rahim, Natalie Robinson, Allison Terrell, Carlie Thornton, Jayden Thornton, Essyle Tuck, and Madison Wilson.

Congratulations to these students who have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, service, character, and leadership at Sylacauga High School.

Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @