Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

Everybody Wants To Rule The World
Tears For Fears


I Run To You
Lady Antebellum

National Honor Society induction held for SHS student


SYLACAUGA, Ala. – In a formal ceremony held at the Sylacauga High School auditorium, new members were inducted into the National Honor Society and Junior Scholastic Society.

Candles were lit by NHS officers signifying the attributes of membership: scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

The seven new senior inductees are Jessie Atchley, Shyion Green, Rolan Jemison, Christopher Morris, Jr., Madison Richardson, Kalina Shorter, and Ja’Miyah Wilson.

Junior inductees include Catherine Abernathy, Elizabeth Atkinson, Finn Atkinson, Leilany Banuelos, Tucker Beane, Landon Burns, Sydney Chapman, Molly Childress, Keaton Childs, Makenzi Cleveland, William J. Combs II, Jakarri Cottingham, Tanaiya Deasia Crayton, Lindsey Duncan, Madison Emaria Estelle, LaTaurus Fluker, Camilla Friday, Charleigh Grice, Hunter Harris, Baylee Harwell, Dalton Hay, Thomas Kayne Hodnett, Brady Hubbard, Jahzara Jones, Keasia Vermesia Kelly, Preston Knight, Carlee Liner, Lilly Kate Lucas, Sarah Beth McCaleb, Myles Douglas McCollough, Kaylan McGinnis, Jase Alexander Mitchell, Haven Owen, Anjali Patel, Iman Rahim, Maggie Reeves, Natalie Robinson, Kaitlyn Smith, JT Sumner, Allison Terrell, Carlie Thornton, Jayden Thornton, Haley Alyssa Townsend, Essyle Tuck, Jenny Velazquez Aguas, Collin Westland, Lauren Whetstone, and Madison C. Wilson.

The Junior Scholastic Society welcomed 37 inductees into their organization: Ben Bearden, Amari Benson, Lucas Boozer, Nathan Gordon, Nolan Gordon, Ella-Kate Green, Maddie Hickman, Catelyn Holbrook, Ali Jackson, Ashlyn Johnson, Isabella Kirkland, Payton Landers, Kelsi McClellan, Asiyah Marie Mickey, Jordan Moon, Ashley Murphy, Sherrica Nunn, Arni Patel, Bayleigh Patterson, Catherine Price, Ethan Pruitt, Selena Pruitt, Eva Marie Reams, Lexi Robbins, Addie Roberts, Chase Royal, Lauren Seaborn, Anna B Shaw, Alexis Smith, Ashlyn Stone, Brady Thomas, Jamaury Keonte Thomas, Jaiden Tuck, Brooks Turner, Damaja Williams, Collin Wilson, and Raya Wingfield.

Current NHS members are Jackson Armstrong, Isabella Baker, Logan Basinger, Anna Bearden, Madison Beasley-Rogers, Audrey Bell, Lee Bland, Gracyn Brooks, Lindsey Burton, Aidan Cochran, Addie Collins, Ava Grace Deloach, Victoria Elliott, Kaitlyn Estelle, Brennon Faircloth, Jackson Fornwalt, Alivia French, Lauren French, Peyton Fricks, Sydney Harris, Amari Headen, Audrey Henson, Emma Jacobs, Kylan King, Brooklyn Leonard, Maggie Mizelle, Hadyn Owens, Estela Padgett, Jacie Pilkington, Zoe Pitts, Mason Porch, Alana Price, Lily Frances Price, Olivia Reams, Jonas Scofield, Emma Grace Steers, Rebekah Theilacker, Ella Waller, and Samuel Wu.


Congratulations to these students who have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, service, character, and leadership at Sylacauga High School.

Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @