Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

Alicia Keys


Dirt On My Boots
Jon Pardi

Gov. Ivey declares state of emergency for six Alabama counties


MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Following yesterday’s impactful severe weather, Gov. Kay Ivey has responded by issuing a state of emergency for six Alabama counties.

Autauga, Chambers, Coosa, Dallas, Elmore and Tallapoosa were issued the state of emergency after being directly hit by the long thunderstorm system that produced multiple tornadoes throughout Thursday.

Gov. Ivey and state emergency officials will assess the situation to determine if an expanded state of emergency is necessary.

“As severe weather continues impacting the state, I urge all Alabamians in its path to stay weather aware and to be safe,” said Gov. Ivey. “We have already seen parts of the state rattled by this severe weather system, which is why I have issued a state of emergency for six of our counties that were in the path of Mother Nature’s wrath. I am ready to be a helping hand to local officials. Please continue using caution.”

Click here to e-mail the reporter.© 2016-2023, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), WSGN, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), RadioAlabama Sports, and RA Digital -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. By signing up, you agree to receive ongoing text message alerts from RadioAlabama. Consent not required for purchase. Up to eight messages per month. Reply STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message & Data rates may apply. Terms and Conditions/Privacy Policy @