Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5


Former Alabama receiver DeVonta Smith named 2020-21 Roy F. Kramer Male Athlete of the Year

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Former Alabama wide receiver and Heisman Trophy winner DeVonta Smith was named the 2020-21 Roy F. Kramer SEC Male Athlete of the Year by a vote of the league’s athletics directors, SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Wednesday.

Smith was joined by Kentucky volleyball player Madison Lilley as the Roy F. Kramer SEC Female Athlete of the Year.

“We are proud to honor DeVonta and Madison, who not only excelled in the SEC but were also recognized as the best in their sport across the country. They are the ultimate examples of what it means to be a student-athlete in the Southeastern Conference,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. “DeVonta and Madison both were members of national championship teams and recipients of their sport’s national player of the year award. Each has competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics, benefitted from the world-class support provided by their universities and, through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence, have reached the pinnacle of collegiate athletic success. Congratulations to DeVonta and Madison and thank you for being part of the SEC!”

Amite, La., native, DeVonta Smith, led the country in receptions, receiving touchdowns and receiving yards. He helped the Crimson Tide to a perfect 13-0 season, including a 52-24 College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship victory over Ohio State. Smith was named the Offensive Most Outstanding Player of the championship game after setting championship game records for the most receptions (12) and receiving touchdowns (3) while accounting for 215 of the Crimson Tide’s 464 receiving yards, all of which came in the first half.

Smith was honored with the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the AP National Player of the Year award, The Sporting News and Walter Camp Player of the Year while also taking home the Biletnikoff Award and Paul Hornung Award. He was also a unanimous first-team All-American and the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

He holds the SEC and school career record for receiving touchdowns and receiving yards. He owns four- and five-TD games making him the only receiver in SEC history with multiple career games totaling 4 or more receiving touchdowns.

The SEC Athletes of the Year Awards were first presented in 1976 for men and 1984 for women. The award was renamed the Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year in 2004 to honor the former Commissioner who served the conference from 1990-2002.

Smith is the fourth Alabama football player to win the award and the first since Mark Ingram in 2009-10. He marks the 12th Alabama athlete to be recognized since its creation.

© 2016-2021, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), FOX Sports Central Alabama on 98.3 FM, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), and RadioAlabama Sports -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. Click here to e-mail the reporter.