Current Weather

Currently on MIX 106.5

21 candidates running for six positions in Sylacauga

SYLACAUGA, Ala. – Qualifying for municipal office in the city of Sylacauga ended yesterday, and the 2020 election has a deep field of candidates.

A total of 21 candidates have put their name in the hat for six city seats.

The list of all candidates are below:


James “Jim” Heigl (i)

Baxter Bozeman

Joseph Hamilton

Michael R. James

Jamie Lee Powell

Richard “Rick” A. Morris



Ashton Fowler (i)

Mike Landers

Albert L. Patton



Tiffany Nix (i)

Andrew Morgan

Laffarin “Deon” Smith



Donnie W. Blackmon (i)

Timothy “Nate” Brewer

DeCorey Hale



Frank “Lee” Perryman (i)

Jada R. Thomas-Combs

Jonathan “Jon” Hall



Dallas Davenport (i)

Laura Barlow Heath

John Wesson


The city’s election date is Aug. 25. The deadline to register to vote is Monday, Aug. 10. The deadline to submit an absentee ballot application is Thursday, Aug. 20. The deadline to hand-deliver an absentee ballot is the close of business Monday, Aug. 24.

Absentee ballot applications are available in City Clerk offices or by completing the form at this link:

Applications must be mailed to the City Clerk (in Sylacauga, P.O. Box 390) and include a photocopy of the applicant’s valid photo ID.


© 2016-2021, City Media LLC/RadioAlabama. All Rights Reserved. RadioAlabama’s network -- MIX 106.5 (& 98.3 HD2), FOX Sports Central Alabama on 98.3 FM, KiX 100.3 (& 1290 AM), 105.1 WRFS, KiX 96.3 (& 1050 AM), and RadioAlabama Sports -- along with reports local news around the clock and will keep you up-to-date during breaking news and weather. For real-time alerts from, text NEWS to 59925. Standard text message rates may apply. Click here to e-mail the reporter.